Green Split Pea Soup

I happened to be browsing around the Whole Foods website the other day to become inspired for some new recipes to cook. My fridge was getting empty, and I needed to go grocery shopping, which I actually love to do. I just needed some new inspiration for what to cook. Well, it turns out that January is National Soup Month! Who knew…I sure didn’t. I was super excited though; soup is one of my favorite things to enjoy all year long.

On these cold, wet, rainy, or snowy days of January, I love heating up a thick, warm, velvety soup for dinner. I’m not sure if I could even pick a favorite. Creamy, thick soups are definitely on the top of my list, but I also love a hearty vegetable soup or a spicy chili to warm me up from the outside chills.

I was inspired to make a few different ones…creamy squash, gingery carrot, and split pea.  I decided to make a green split pea soup since I had them on hand. However, I didn’t write down a recipe but just threw the ingredients together. Here’s what I did, I hope it comes out just as great for you as it did for me.

Green Split Pea Soup

  • 3 ½ cups water
  • 1 cup green split peas (they were soaked over night in a bowl of water)
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 2 small carrots, sliced
  • 1 strip of kombu
  • 1 to 1 ½ teaspoons sea salt, or to taste
  • 1 teaspoon cumin seeds
  • ½ teaspoon minced fresh ginger
  • 4 large kale leaves, chopped
  • Small handful of dulse

In a large stockpot, add all the ingredients except the dulse. Heat over medium heat until the soup boils. Once it boils, reduce the heat to low and allow to simmer 45 minutes or until peas are done.

Once the soup is done, break apart the dulse and add it to the soup. Cover and allow the soup to sit a few minutes. Taste and adjust for seasonings as necessary. Enjoy!

If you would like, you could garnish the soup with fresh, chopped parsley and a couple of tablespoons of lemon juice!

Leave a Reply

